Back home again!

We left beautiful Tyrol today – I am very grateful for this skiing vacation having been a lot better, snow wise, than anticipated. Despite the temperatures well above 0°C, even on the mountain, for the most part. Skiing was not only absolutely possible, but quite enjoyable too – and the snow being so wet and heavy made for some serious action in my thigh muscles! Which I appreciate.

On the way home, of course, there was this:

Ride Home

Gotta pass the time somehow! Without traffic, it’d be a 4 hour ride, roughly – but with everybody and their mothers returning from their skiing vacations on the same day as we did, plus the huge hold-up on account of the Epic Schengen Fail(tm) of our present times, we were on the road for about 6 hours. Not that I got much done, mind you. At some point, thankfully, I fell asleep.

I was wearing my Antonia Wrap-Around Shrug today, and much to my chagrin I noticed that for all my crazy pattern adaptations, the end result is entirely too long! Silly me, I hadn’t accounted for the fact that the yarn actually stretches with wear… ugh. I really do feel stupid now. What I am going to do is to close up the shoulder parts more where the sleeves start, and then unravel (shorten) the sleeves accordingly – that should hopefully fix my mistake. Again – live and learn. My mother still think that the shrug looks weird, but Geo seems to be really into it and complimented me on it several times all throughout the day – which really motivates me to fix it instead of just tossing it aside and moving on to better things.

And speaking of “moving on”… I really just can’t help myself. Remember the huge ball of mohairy yarn I got for my birthday? Well, look at this pattern on Ravelry: Civilknit‘s Airy Wrap, which she has made with exactly the yarn I am having. Not sure if I can actually reproduce her instructions, but I shall give it a try. Shh, don’t tell anybody that I am starting something new yet again without finishing something else off my WIP list first…

Here’s a video that explains how to wrap yarn around the needle multiple times, if you – like me – have no idea how to do it.

(So let’s call this new project “learning a new skill”, shall we?)

5 Comments

    1. They are called “Kreisel Fingerless Gloves”, if you look at my previous posts about these things you will also find the link to the original pattern, if you are interested. 🙂

      I love the idea, but I am having a very hard time focusing on it, I keep on getting distracted and soon there will be no more need for gloves…! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      1. Oh WOW! I love these so much I added them immediately to my Ravelry queue. Oh? Where are you in the world? It will be Winter in Australia in a few months time so I am definitely thinking about them : ) Thanks for the idea!
        I know what you mean though. It’s super hard to keep going with a project you feel has become irrelevant…

        Like

      2. I am in Austria!
        Do show me yours when you are finished… I am really curious. 🙂 Awesome blog, btw… how am I not following it yet? o_O Must fix the situation immediately.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yay! SO nice of you to say. Thanks for the follow! Yes I think I will have to do those gloves out scrap yarn to see what the effect will be in lots of different colours….Ohhh Austria! Please send some coldness to Australia!! It’s too humid!!

        Like

Leave a Comment