The Fortune’s Shawlette – WIP Notes

I am actually not quite sure if I want to do a WIP-notes kind of posting at all, or just post finished things. I’ll give it a shot, though – mostly because I have unraveled and re-done both Fortune’s Shawlettes last night, because I figured that the hook sizes I chose were not bringing the pattern out enough. To demonstrate: on the left you can see my initial beginning of the shawlette, with hook size 3 – on the right the same amount of rows done with a size 4. It’s better

Fortune's Shawlette Jaipur 4…and yet… it isn’t good. As I keep going with this, I get more and more unhappy and dissatisfied. I haven’t yet decided if it’s the yarn, or the actual pattern. Can’t put my finger on it – maybe I thought this should be a lot more lacey and less fabric-y? Maybe the yarn looked a lot better on the ball than it does now all worked into a pattern?

I can’t quite put my finger on it, and I was about to unravel the whole thing and wait for a more suitable pattern to come along for this yarn. And just as I was about to do that, my daughter passed by and went all crazy about how beautiful this thing is. And when I said: “I don’t like it, I am going to unravel it”, she just about squeaked in horror and practically begged me to finish it for her instead. My initial impulse was to say no, but then I thought better of it and agreed. Cause the thing is: the actual making of the pattern is a very enjoyable process. It goes quickly and is easy and relaxing, for a relative quick result. For a kid-sized shawlette it really shouldn’t take up too much time. Bonus: a happy little girl – I take it.

This project can also be found on Ravelry.

5 thoughts on “The Fortune’s Shawlette – WIP Notes

  1. Ha! I can’t even count how many times I have worked myself up into hating a piece that I am working on just to have someone tell me that is amazing and I’m a crazy person. We’re our own worst critics! (Ps- I love the yarn you are using, and I agree with your daughter – it looks lovely).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just completed this shawl and I agree the pattern feels like it should be more lacy, but I blocked it hard and it turned out better than I expected. It’s on Ravelry under adenby’s blackberry shawl. Your colours are lovely, I agree with your daughter!!

    Like

    1. Oh, yours is gorgeous! I absolutely LOVE the yarn you chose. I am glad I am not the only one with the same experience, I started to worry that I am doing something wrong here. (Couldn’t see what, though.) I hope that blocking will help – as it is, it’s more of a fabric than lace, really. I am not sure how much cotton yarn can be blocked in order to open up the pattern a bit more. Stay tuned… 😉

      Like

Leave a Comment

