Nadelspiel’s Crochet Advent Calendar – Day 1

01This is what happens when I scroll through my Facebook page‘s newsfeed: I come across nadelspiel by eliZZZa‘s Crochet Advent Calendar. Of course.

<sarcasm>Because I don’t have any other WIPs, and copious amounts of spare time. </sarcasm>

(And I am not even a fan of doilies.)

But I am a fan of advent calendars, and I am a fan of crochet… what can I say. Couldn’t help it. Resistance is futile. Of course I went ahead and made it harder on myself than necessary, by using a yarn that has been laying around in one of my stash boxes for a very long time without me having the slightest clue what to do with it.

Its a bright red, beautifully shiny effect yarn, made from 83% viscose and 17% cotton. One ball makes for 50g and 85m. Unfortunately, my cell phone isn’t very good at capturing anything red, much less bright red – so these crappy pictures will have to make due – sorry about that.

I think the yarn is just the right festive hue, especially because of the elegant sheen of it. The little thick parts in the strand make for some extra structure in the doily – I have no idea how this will look like when the piece gets larger, but I’ll just play it by ear as things develop.

You can find the (German) introductory video to the Crochet Advent Calendar here – I hope I am allowed to share it, if not I am sure that eliZZZa will let me know.

Day 1 can be found here, including rows 1-3.

My results? Here:

This project can also be found on Ravelry.


EDIT: Here’s a new version of the doily, made with Gründl Four Seasons “Häkelgarn 100” (100% cotton).

Crochet Advent Calendar 2 - Day 01

This project can also be found on Ravelry.

 

One thought on “Nadelspiel’s Crochet Advent Calendar – Day 1

Leave a Comment

