Snowflake Tea Light Cozy (aka Nadelspiel’s Crochet Advent Calendar – Day 18)

18I am skipping today’s pattern from nadelspiel‘s advent calendar, because I am not too hot about these tealight cozies, truth to be told. I did, however, still want to make a tealight cozy for the season – because we are invited to a Christmas party on the weekend, and I want to bring along something cute and appropriate for the occasion.

A quick Pinterest search pointed me in the perfectly right direction: the Snowflake Tea Light Cozy by Wendy Bickford. It’s a free Ravelry download, and it’s so fun and easy and quick to make that I ended up making three in less than 2 hours (- including several rounds of frogging, because I didn’t get the gauge right immediately). I hope the intended recipient will love them as much as I do – and I will probably have to make a few more for our very own Christmas Eve dinner table as well!

I used a size 3.0 mm for the flake, and a size 4.5 mm for where the tea light goes into in order to make it fit with the yarn I was using. (It was a bit of trial and error.) I also added one row of sc on top of the cozy – which were the only (small) modifications I made to this beautiful pattern.

(A bit of silver sparkle on the snowflakes probably wouldn’t hurt, either… will have to ask my daughter if she has any leftovers somewhere for me!)

This project can also be found on Ravelry.

For those of you interested, here are the instructions to nadelspiel’s tea light cozies:

3 thoughts on “Snowflake Tea Light Cozy (aka Nadelspiel’s Crochet Advent Calendar – Day 18)

Leave a Comment

