Crochet Mary Jane Slippers

Jan 2: This is my umpteenth attempt at crochet slippers, seriously. I started so many already – and they’ve never worked out. I once actually finished a pair – and they didn’t fit me, either. Maybe they did in the beginning – but then they just started to grow and grow, and I kept on slipping out from the heel… and they were just overall uncomfortable… so I kind of gave up on ever making crochet slippers that looked good and fit me.

Until I stumbled across these by Calypso Gray.

Mary Janes by Calypso Gray

(Image credit: Free pattern for crocheted Mary-Jane slippers on the little house by the sea)

So cute!!!

Well, another attempt don’t hurt nobody, right?

I am using Gründl Four Seasons “Perfino”, which seems to be quite a good match to the yarn used by the designer. Also, I started with a 5 mm hook, as recommended. The directions say that the outcome should fit every foot up to EU size 40. I am bigger than even that (I am a EU size 42/US size 10) – so I knew that they would be too small for me. Regardless – I followed the instructions to see just how small the result would be, and where I would have to adjust the pattern in order to fit me. And – yikes! The outcome was way off – the sole fit my daughter’s EU size 34 – definitely NOT my ginormous ol’ stompers.

I am going to bed now at almost a quarter to 2 AM, and three attempts of getting the size right, but before I log off, I am going to chronicle my current changes to the original pattern so far, so that tomorrow I will be able to accurately reproduce the second slipper – should my edits prove to be suitable for my feet.

CAUTION! This is a UK pattern, therefore dc = sc!!!

I stuck with the original pattern through Rows 1-4, but ditched the size 5 hook for a size 6.5 mm. Because a simple switch of the hook didn’t produce anything resembling size 10, either – I had to modify the pattern itself. So, repeating what had been done up to this point, I just kept on going until the cap fit my toes:

TOE CAP:

Rows 1-4: same as original pattern

Row 5: dc into each of next 8 stitches, 3 dc into next stitch, dc into each of next 11 stitches, 3 dc into next stitch, dc into next 3 stitches (28 stitches)

Row 6: dc into each of next 9 stitches, 3 dc into next stitch, dc into each of next 13 stitches 3 dc into next stitch, dc into next 4 stitches (32 stitches)

Row 7: dc into each of next 10 stitches, 3 dc into next stitch, dc into each of next 15 stitches, 3 dc into next stitch, dc into next 5 stitches (36 stitches)

Row 8 + 9: dc in each stitch around (36 stitches)

Then, instead of going in rows of 8 stitches for the sole, which would have barely covered half of the width of my foot, I tried it with 14 stitches. Maybe this will be too much, too wide – let’s see tomorrow. So far, I’ve got 8 rows of that. The original pattern calls for 13 rows before starting with the shaping of the heel. I will measure it out after I get up in the morning, and see how much I will have to edit the sole to fit me. Yet, for now – good night!


Jan 3: Good afternoon! I’ve been busy trying to organize my daughter’s room all day, so I haven’t been able to get back to my slippers as soon as I wanted to. (Organizing the room hasn’t yet been particularly successful either… lol)

Anyway – here’s how I continued:

SOLE

Row 1: basically the same as the original pattern, only I am making rows of 14 stitches instead of only 8

Row 2: dc into each stitch, 1 ch, turn (14 stitches)

Rows 3-19: same as row 2

Row 20: 2 dc into first stitch, dc into next 12 stitches, 2 dc into last stitch, 1 ch, turn (16 stitches)

Row 21: dc into each stitch, 1 ch, turn (16 stitches)

Now it seems as if the sole is wide enough already for my heel, I am not going to add any more stitches in width. Instead, I will keep going for a few more rows for additional length:

Rows 22-25: same as row 21 (16 stitches)

Row 26: dc into next 2 stitches, 2dctog, dc into next 8 stitches, 2dctog, dc into next 2 stitches (14 stitches)

Row 27: dc into next 2 stitches, 2dctog, dc into next 6 stitches, 2dctog, dc into next 2 stitches (12 stitches)

Row 28: dc into next 2 stitches, 2dctog, dc into next 4 stitches, 2dctog, dc into next 2 stitches (10 stitches)

Row 29: dc into next 2 stitches, 2dctog (3x), dc into next 2 stitches (7 stitches)

Row 30: 2dctog, 3dctog, 2dctog (3 stitches)

UPPER PART

Round 1: same as original pattern, only with me it’s 30 stitches along one side + 24 stitches along toe cap + 30 stitches along other side + 3 stitches at the heel (87 stitches)

Round 2: repeat round 1

Round 3: 2dctog, dc in next 26 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 20 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 26 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 3 stitches

Round 4: 2dctog, dc in next 24 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 18 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 24 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 3 stitches

Round 5:2dctog, dc in next 22 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 16 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 22 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 3 stitches

Round 6: MODIFICATION FROM ORIGINAL PATTERN: 2dctog (2x), dc in next 16 stitches, 2dctog (4x), dc in next 10 stitches, 2dctog (4x), dc in next 16 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 3 stitches

Round 7: 2dctog, dc in next 16 stitches, 2dctog (3x), dc in next 6 stitches, 2dctog (3x), dc in next 16 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 3 stitches

(Ugh – this better work out and fit my feet like Cinderella’s glass slippers for all the effort I am putting into the modification of this pattern!)

Strap:Basically the same as the original pattern, only I am making ch 7 for the buttonhole, and ch 20 for the strap.

LEFT SLIPPER

Round 8: Set up like original pattern, then dc in next 8 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 3 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 15 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 5 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 6 stitches, sl st into stitch where strap was joined, then dc up one side of the chain (20 stitches), dc into each chain in the loop (7 stitches), and dc back down the other side of the chain (20 stitches)

RIGHT SLIPPER

Round 8: Set up like original pattern, then dc in next 6 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 6 stitches, 2dctog (2x), dc in next 14 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 3 stitches, 2dctog, dc in next 8 stitches, sl st into stitch where strap was joined, then dc up one side of the chain (20 stitches), dc into each chain in the loop (7 stitches), and dc back down the other side of the chain (20 stitches)

BOTH SLIPPERS

Round 9: same as Round 8 of original pattern


 

I just finished my left slipper – and I am absolutely thrilled to say: it fits me like a glove!!! Can’t wait to make the right one. Pics to come once both are finished!

I hope the designer of this wonderful pattern won’t be too upset about me modifying it… if so, please let me know and I will take my modifications off this blog.

2 thoughts on “Crochet Mary Jane Slippers

Leave a Comment

