My Amigurumi Zoo

I have realized that I have never actually shown off all the amigurumis I have made through the years.

Amiwhu…what?

Amigurumi (編みぐるみ?, lit. crocheted or knitted stuffed toy) is the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting small, usually cute stuffed animals and anthropomorphic creatures. The word is derived from a combination of the Japanese wordsami, meaning crocheted or knitted, and nuigurumi, meaning stuffed doll.[1] Amigurumi are typically animals, but can include artistic renderings or inanimate objects endowed with anthropomorphic features,[2] as is typical in Japanese culture.

While amigurumi have been popular in Japan for several decades, amigurumi first started appealing to the masses in other countries, especially in the West, in 2003.[3] By 2006, amigurumi were reported to be some of the most popular items on Etsy, an online craft marketplace, where they typically sold for $10 to $100.[3] Since then popularity has continued to increase.[4]

(Source: Wikipedia)

Amigurumi is a word I really had to get used to. When I started on my crochet journey, they were pretty much all I ever made, whenever I wasn’t busy with yet another baby blanket. However, it felt weird to use that word – and nobody seemed to know what the hell I was talking about, people sniggered at the word, and I always thought they were actually laughing at the stuff I was doing – because something with that name could only be stupid. (Yeah, I am sensitive around people. More than I should be.)

I used “crochet dolls” instead… that is, until a couple of years ago, when I figured out that my co-worker soul-sister is into crochet as well (…of course) – and used the term amigurumi matter-of-factly in conversation, totally owning it. HA! At least I’m not the only weird one around here.

So, without further ado: here’s my gallery of “crochet dolls” – no explanation needed… and please excuse the partially abysmal photo quality. Some of these are old.

There were also more involved ones, like this set of a Zebra & Unicorn, which are among my favorites up to this day – especially the zebra:

Or this Stegosaurus for my son, which sleeps in his bed every night and which is one of his favorite snuggle partners, especially when he doesn’t feel well:

There was also this one time where I was on a complete doll-crocheting craze and decided to make eight dolls for eight kids for Christmas and cranked those out within like a month – and then made 2 more for various children’s birthdays, and another 3 on commission. But that’s an epic post all by itself, which is coming up soon – promise.

I will come back to this entry at some point and add patterns and Ravelry links where applicable, and also update my Patterns page accordingly.

You can find the corresponding Facebook album here.

One thought on “My Amigurumi Zoo

Leave a Comment

