Baby #B’s Blanket – FINISHED!

Wow, and none too early… we were scheduled to leave the house to go visit Baby #B around 2:15 PM – and I cut off the last piece of yarn at 2:08 PM.

Another first: I fell asleep on the couch last night, watching TV, mid-crochet. I woke up some time later in the middle of the night with the crochet hook in my hand, and the yarn wrapped around my finger. I lol’d at myself – and took myself to bed. Couldn’t see straight anymore. Got up around 8:30 and assembled all eyes and beaks from 9 AM to 2 PM. And the outcome? I am HAPPY AS HELL with it. Worth every minute:

Benjamin's Blanket #1

While I got ready to leave the house in a record time of about 5 minutes, The Husband gift-wrapped the blanket, and off we went.

I hope think it was a success. For sure it felt good giving it, and I hope its little recipient will come to love it at some point.

But best of all was seeing my oldest friend’s baby son for the first time, taking him into my arms, looking at his beautiful tiny face – and feeling overwhelmed by the rush of time. I am 37 years old – and I’ve known him for 36 of those… as legend has it, I played a part in his very own birth, my one-year-old self jumping up on his mom’s lap and belly a bit too enthusiastically, which allegedly resulted in the onset of her labor that very evening. I like that story.

We’ve been friends for as long as I can remember. And now here I was, holding his very own baby boy in my arms.

Life isn’t always easy, and life isn’t always what you want it to be – but in moments like these, life in all its glory comes crushing down on you in a beautiful wave of emotions and you don’t want it to be anything other than what it is. Welcome into it, beautiful Baby #B.

7 thoughts on “Baby #B’s Blanket – FINISHED!

Leave a Comment

