Finished: Filet Crochet Curtains (1/5)

Filet Crochet Curtain - Finished 1

(That’s the view from my terrace, btw. Facing west. I know!)

Well, today has been the day – the first of the 5 planned curtains has come off my hook, and I must say: I am truly pleased with the outcome. It took a little more than 1.5 skeins of yarn, which was actually a lot more than expected – which put me into a bit of a pickle, as the grand total of yarn I own in this color is exactly: two.

Ahem.

This yarn was sold as a special limited time offer at a local supermarket over a year ago, so needless to say, I was sweating hard, thinking I wouldn’t be able to get my hands on more of this particular colorway. And then what? Unravel and start over with a different color? Leave it, and make the second part in a different color? What an OCD nightmare, you guys.

Gründl Four Seasons "Häkelgarn 100"In the meantime, my mother had presented me with 4 skeins of the exact shade of yellow I wanted to get for my son’s curtains – out of nowhere – relieving me of the task to find it and buy it myself. (Gründl Four Seasons “Häkelgarn 100”) That’s awesome, for sure – didn’t solve my problem of not having enough blue, however. Thankfully, I’ve kept a ribbon, at least – we’re talking about Steinbach Wolle Maxi here – so eventually I found exactly what I needed at an Austrian online store:

Fulminaria Garne

It took about a week for my yarn to get there, but other than that it’s been a smooth online transaction, I would definitely buy there again (- if I am not in a rush to get my yarn, that is). And here’s what saved my ass:

Steinbach Wolle Maxi

Now there’s enough to finish the second part of the blue curtain, as well as leave the option open to maybe just make them half-curtains instead  of sewing on white cloth, and add a decorative border on the bottom, as well as loops to hang the curtains with.

I’ve not been working on this project consistently, and according to Ravelry I have started it on March 16 – and finished it surprisingly quickly, considering that sometimes it lay dormant for entire weeks at a time.

I’ve also had my first chance of trying out my new blocking mat since buying it all these months ago:

Filet Crochet Curtain - Finished 2

Taken with the panorama option of my iPhone – it’s a little off, but it shows it well enough. Would love some input from you guys!

One Comment

  1. […] Budgie Curtains 1/4: What was supposed to be my big main project for 2016 in the end turned out to be only 1/4 of a big project. It was actually more fun to make than expected, but even though I started with 2/4, my motivation waned a bit and I was soon distracted with other things. I will get these done, though… I still hate how my kids’ rooms are so bare and curtain-less. But then, this is actually a really nice project for the warmer days, so I may just end up picking this up in spring again. Raveled here. […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Comment